Expected SN with a 80cm dish on NB transponder

• Hi,

I am completely new to QO-100 and I am starting for now with the receiving part.

I am using a 80cm offset dish with an Octagon Single LNB Green, adalm-pluto & SDR Console.

It's working fine but reception is quite weak compared to the Goonhilly Es'hail-2 Narrowband WebSDR.

The best I can get adjusting my antena orientation and LNB skew is a around 30dB signal-to-noise ratio on the lower CW beacon.

¿Is this SN reasonable?, ¿what could I do to improve it?

Thanks for your help.

Nicolas EA4GQY

• morning,

The pluto is a little deaf!!!

34dB with pluto

41dB with my sdr play on a 1mtr dish and on the lower beacon

Even my rtlsdr stick give bether results...or there is somthing wrong with my pluto!!

greetings and stay safe and enjoy hamradio

• Hello Nicholas,

I believe that with a correctly pointed 80cm antenna and reasonable receive system you should be able to see the transponder noise floor and once you see that then the uplink S/N as "seen" by the transponder is largely the limiting factor. There is a thread here QSB on the beacon signal? where the measurement of the beacon S/N using SDR Console is discussed. Bandwidth settings have an impact on the figure but for his settings Peter DB2OS said 38dB S/N was usual for the lower beacon once you see the transponder noise floor. That's what I see with my 60cm with an unmodified Goobay GL202 LNB.

73 Chris G4SDG

• Hello Nicholas,

I believe that with a correctly pointed 80cm antenna and reasonable receive system you should be able to see the transponder noise floor ...

73 Chris G4SDG

I also agree because the other measures are influenced by many factors. This is what I see with a 100 cm dish. They are more or less 6 dB.

Antenna 100 cm unmodified Octagon OTSLO Twin LNB

• My way to verify different equipments is to take a look at the ground noise