Posts by G4KCM

Well each to their own but I stand by my opinion. Some earlier words on the forum regarding 2.4GHz RX maybe of interest...

2,4GHz transmission check

Not to ignore the original topic completely... I would also encourage any one wishing to operate QO-100 to have their own 10GHz receive capability. It is not difficult to achieve especially now with the popular SDR console software from G4ELI carrying out frequency drift correction.

Clive

I think it could be interpreted that in the case of the U.K licence it requires that your “Radio Equipment” be capable of receiving on the frequency upon which transmission takes place. I’m not a lawyer but the language, to me, in conjunction with the rest of clause 7 of the licence conditions implies that it is the licensee’s equipment that should be receiving and not that of a third party.

“7(6) In order to reduce the likelihood of causing Undue Interference, the Licensee shall ensure that the Radio Equipment is capable of receiving Messages on the same frequencies and with the same classes of emission in use for the transmission of Messages by the Radio Equipment.”

Besides the above offline monitoring of the stations transmitter into a dummy load should go some way towards reducing the number of poor quality signals that have been appearing.

Personally I would not consider transmitting without being able to hear my own signal locally. QO-100 is not a piece of test equipment and using it as such cannot do anything to enhance the reputation of the amateur radio community in the eyes of the satellites owners.

Clive

I have actually left the bias 'as is' because I do want to try the DATV transponder at some stage. Just about got the setup as I want it now but I'm sure that won't last for too long!