Posts by OM3BD

Remember, you will get 2-3 dB more RX Signal if you add a electrical lense.

So be not worried if without lense the RX signal is 2-3 dB less than before.

Yes, exactly as you said. I'm seeing signals but weaker than before. It is also still raining which does not help the signal.

Noted a couple of mechanical issues:

1) I'll have to file out a groove on the outside of the plastic mount, the N connector jack and plug will not pass.

2) The bottom of the reflector touches the metal arm, is that a problem?

Hm,

I have no experience with adapting square to round.

But, I don´t believe thats necessary to for such a smooth flatten.

Comercial round to square adapter have a step from square to round.

Just connect them together and it will work well enough.

OK, I'm ready to cut the tube, I've not been able to remove the old LNB. How is the POTY secured to the LNB. Just glue to the plastic cap?

The POTY construction looks ok. Nearly 4mm. Is ist home built?

I did not build it but it looks home built.

Do I need to break apart the plastic outside of the LNB or is there a trick to opening it? I've been trying to pry it open with no success.

I can't remove the old LNB with soldering gun, will need to borrow a torch or cut it off as you suggested.

there is a 3rd option (which I would prefere) :

Buy a POTY feed, then you have all the advantages you need.

You can still use your LNB

Is that a POTY in the attached photo? It came in the box with the rest of the QO-100 gear that has been loaned to me. Is it a POTY with the inside of an LNB attached to the bottom? That LNB does not work, I've tried it. Maybe I could remove it.

Well, according to the motto: something always works ...

as long as the feed is mounted outside of the reflected beam path (i.e. next to or above the LNB), a loss of several dB will occur because the main lobe of the emitted signal is simply not directed towards QO-100.

Anyway, not a good solution.