Posts by DF2HF

Thanks G0MJW

I will stop testing this amp until I make proper heatsink.

Out of curiosity: is it also important to have the proper ground/heatsink for a quick passive power-on test? Will it still do this self-oscillation? My initial assumption was that it's safe just to turn on the amp without driving it.

G0MJW Thanks for your time.

Well, I'm also a beginner to microwave. My experience in this area is limited to my QO100 setup (this is the 3rd amplifier I'm tinkering with, after the Chinese WiFi booster, and the other Doherty amp)

The voltage at drains seem to be normal (28V), but the gates are 0.4V and 0.5V, so you're right about the threshold and that's where my problem is.

I've attached some pictures. Please note that this is not my final setup and I'm not gonna use it like this. I just wanted to make sure that this device is not faulty, and only then I would spend time on a proper heatsink. So no RF input is given to it. Just idle measurements.

Also as you see in the pictures, the sources are not grounded, so before I do the test setup, I connect the source to ground manually.

These modifications are according to the manual provided by the seller (removing the capacitor in the input, doing 2 snowflakes, cutting some traces in the output path, and removing the final isolator)

Regards

Hello everyone

I faced another weird issue, but this time on another amplifier.

The idle current should be around 1A, but it's only 6mA !!

When I touch the gate of the transistor at the top of the picture, the current increases to 1A.

What can be the issue? I'm checking all the connections. The only thing I can think of is a loose connection to ground somewhere.

Any ideas?

Bests

One more update: I cut BLF6G22L`s access to N100 and provided an external voltage directly to the gate.