Meteosat image beacon on QO-100

• Hello, this is my first time posting in this forum so hopefully a thread like this isn't too unsuitable.

I've been wondering about this for a while now - would it be possible to try and reach out to Eumetsat and establish a low rate Meteosat data service over the QO-100 wideband transponder? When I say low rate I really mean something like 333 or 250 ksps, even QPSK would be enough to fit a decent amount of imagery at full resolution, but given the transmit power of the WB transponder and the low bandwidth of such beacon, 8PSK or 16APSK would probably work too to either fit even more data/FEC or reduce the bandwidth.

The new Meteosat-12 weather satellite is commissioning currently, and I think this would be a really good way to "bring HRIT back to Europe" with very little effort needed from the ground segment. The data from this satellite (and already operating satellites) would be distributed via Eumetcast in DVB-S from Eutelsat 10B, but this requires a relatively expensive receiver set up that's out of reach of most amateurs and enthusiasts, as it also carries a ton of additional data, resulting in a massive data rate and computer requirements.

A station like this could only be set up at Bochum for example, with just a small subset of data extracted and re-transmitted again using QO-100, this time at a relatively low rate so even a dirt cheap RTL-SDR setup with a small dish and generic LNB would be able to receive it. An arrangement like this would make it possible to set up amateur receivers of Meteosat imagery even cheaper, easier, and more robust than the current notorious GOES HRIT L-band. Eumetcast even carries GOES imagery, so that could be included in the data stream too, possibly even with Himawari.