Down Converter V3d defect?

• Hi,

I've used the Down Converter V3d with the GPS-Modul V2 for several month now. It worked as expected.
    Today I got a problem. It seems that the some PLL isn't locked and some frequency isn't stable. You can see the effect on the screenshot. All Leds are ok and also the seriell Debug output from the converter looks normal.

Does anyone knows this effect and maybe have some hint?

For clarification:

The TRX is Adalm-Pluto, external clocked with 40MHZ from the Down-Converter.

The LNB is modified and also ext. clocked with 24MHz from Down-Converter.

73, Hartmut

• Hi,

I am relatively new to RF technology.

For starters I have set up a small ground station to receive QO100. But now I experience very similar problems.
    In the beginning the DownConverter V3d (with GPS receiver) worked just fine. I am using a PlutoSDR and the modified LNB as well.
    For better signal stability I wanted to feed the 40 MHz clock reference from the DownConverter to the Pluto. So I modified the Pluto in order to connect the clock.
    Unfortunately the readings I am getting now are not what I expected at all. So I checked the Pluto without DownConverter. I connected the signal generator of an Osci to the clock input of the Pluto. Receiving the local radio stations with this set up worked nicely. To verify that the rest of the setup works correctly I built a simple Bias Tee. With the Bias Tee (antenna, Bias Tee, Pluto) I can receive the signals again.
    The DownConverter however is not working as it should. I have observed the following:

1) GPS receiver LEDs:
    PLL: off
    Power: blinking
    GPS sat connection: on

Though I have to say that I think i saw the PLL LED on for a second just after switching on the power for the DownConverter. But that was not reproducible a second time. I tried several times.

2) DownConverter LEDs:
    Power supply(A): on
    Down mixer lock(B): off

(C) : mostly off but blinks once in a while shortly